The Scientific Advisory Board

Each institute of the Max Planck Society has an advisory board as the main external evaluation instrument of its scientific work. As a rule, the board consists of eight to ten members, who mostly do not belong to the Max Planck Society, but are scientists from universities and other research institutions in Germany and abroad.

Every three years the scientific advisory board undertakes an evaluation of the research achievements of the institute. The results and insights gained from this are an important basis for planning further scientific developments and for managing the resources of the Max Planck Society as a whole.

The Members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine:

  • Prof. Dr. Victoria L. Bautch, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Peter B. Becker, Biomedizinisches Centrum München Molekularbiologie, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Munich, Germany
  • Dr. Vania Braga, South Kensington Campus, Imperial College London, UK
  • Prof. Dr. Peter J. Donovan, Sue and Bill Gross Stem Cell Research Center, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Shaorong Gao, School of Life Sciences and Technology, Tongji University, Shanghai, China
  • Prof. Dr. Christopher C. W. Hughes, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Tatiana V. Petrova, Department of Oncology, CHUV and University of Lausanne, Epalinges, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Werner, Institute of Molecular Health Sciences, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland

(As of April 2018)

Go to Editor View